On Change

So I’ve been doing some deep thinking lately, and have come to some conclusions.  Do people really “just” change?

I don’t think they do.  I think what others see as “change” in a person is really those people just seeing the “changing” person more for who they really are inside.  The “changing” person has, perhaps, become more comfortable around said people and wants to show another side of themselves, or perhaps it is something else…

Perhaps it’s the fact that this “changing” person has been putting up a front the whole time, trying to make other believe he/she is something that he/she really isn’t.  Now, after all this time of faking it, the person either can’t (or doesn’t want or feel the need to) keep up the charade any longer.  They never really changed.  They were always the same person.  They were just pretending to be something they weren’t.

Motives for doing such a thing?  Those are about as varied as there are types of 9mm rounds.  The truth is, someone viewing this “changing” person may never know what spurred the alteration, and the “changing” person may not always accommodate that person with an explanation.   After all, why should he/she have to justify who they really are, right?  I know I don’t feel the need to justify myself to anyone, but then again, I don’t put up a front.  What you see is what you get with me.

Just some random thoughts I thought I’d share.  Catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

