A Few New Updates

So, the cabbie strike has been going on for about a month now. “What cabbie strike?” you may ask. Well, remember a while ago when I blogged about the new cab company on post to help supplement the AAFES cabs and how they didn’t like each other. Well, turns out that the AAFES cab company REALLY didn’t like the other cabs being on post, so they went on strike. Like a month ago. Sure has put a dent in getting where you need to go quickly, that’s for sure. Oh well, when you can catch one of the new cabs, they’re cheaper than the AAFES ones, so that’s a plus.

Well, I went and did it. I bought a gun that is sure to be on any “Big Black Angry Assault Weapons of DOOM” list that will probably be presented later this year. I got me a FNH Five-seveN. But not just any Five-seveN… I got me a Five-seveN IOM. That’s right, no square trigger guard for me! There were only a few thousand of these made before they switched to the newer USG models with the “more traditional” squarish trigger guards. I got her for a pretty good deal, too, but I’ll keep that to myself.

Now, on my doctor visit yesterday. Looks like I may be staying here for a while longer, unless my PA decides to push the P3 profile and MEB for me. The doc I saw yesterday said he thinks my knee is hurting because I’m not using it enough. I tried to explain that I walk around w/o my cane in the office, but if I do that repeatedly for more than about a half-hour or 45 minutes, I really start to hurt. No mention of “tendinitis” either. When I asked about possible nerve damage like my ortho doc back home had thought, he told me that I do not have that and he thinks that my doc back home only said that to cover his own ass. He also chastised me when I told him that I hadn’t been continuing my physical therapy because I was told that I had failed and that it was not helping me. Tell me, would you continue doing exercises that your physical therapist told you were not helping you? I didn’t think so. I have no idea what to expect now. I’m going to try and get in to see my PA this coming week and talk to her, but I can’t even imagine what she’ll want to do. If I never deal with another Army doc again in my life, it’ll still be too soon.

Catch you on the flip side.

EDITED: I just wanted to note that, if no one caught it yet, this means that I have been given two different (literally opposite) opinions on what I should do with my knee – one to keep resting it, and the other to start using it more without my cane.  Both orthopedic doctors, mind you, and both that work in the same hospital department.  How fracked up is that?!

Leave a Reply

