Medical Update… again

So, it’s been a while since I’ve posted one of these.  Army works fast, huh?  *rolls eyes*

I had my commander’s interview today which consisted of her writing a summary of the history of my injury and what has been done for it since, then she got some info from me about where is home and what family I have and whatnot.  I got to fill out a bunch of medical paperwork and got a look at my finished permanent profile (all signed and approved by some important LTC-doctor-person).  I guess now my medical discharge packet goes up the chain to my old boss, LTC Creed, for his approval and a letter saying whether or not he agrees with my commander’s assessment and recommendation.  He’ll probably want to talk to me, seeing as how I use to work for him and all.  He always asks me how my knee is doing when he sees me out and about.  Even the new CSM (who I’ve ended up getting to know by fixing some Excel files on his computer) is friendly and stops me to ask about my knee.  I think CSM(R) Neal might have put in a good word for me with him.

Anyways, I was told that once the packet goes up, it’s usually about four weeks before we find out what medical treatment facility I’ll be going back to that is close to home.  Apparently my doc here is pushing this stuff through and working really hard for me, though, so it might be sooner.  My commander said that I should probably be looking at about a month (or a little more) longer than I was initially told, but that with my doc working as hard as she is, it just might be about the same time anyway.  The CSM today told me that I should go ahead and start going to ACAP (Army Career and Alumni Program) which gives me all the info I need to become a productive “civilian” again, as well as helping me convert my military experience into a useful and attractive resume’.  That really kind of drove home that I’m nearing the final stretch.  I’m really gonna be a civilian again…  huh.

Catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

