Where were you?

Just thought I’d see if I can get a few response from people who remember where they were and what they were doing on the 11th of September in 2001?

Me?  I was in the bathroom of my dorm and had just finished brushing my teeth for class.  I was walking back down my hallway to my room when I heard the news blaring from another guy’s room.  They I heard, “Here it is!  Here’s the clip again!” and several other gasps and comments like, “No fucking way…”.  I poked my head in just in time to see the second plane crash into the tower.

My heart stopped for a split second.  I couldn’t believe what I had just seen.  Just a few years earlier, I had been to the top of the West tower on a school choir trip.  I instantly ran back to my room to turn on the tv and watch what I could before class.  When I got to class, it was on the tv’s in the classroom.  No work being done.  The campus was a buzz with people trying to call family and friends.  I had to calm my at the time girlfriend because her father works in DC near The Pentagon.  It’s a day I can remember as vividly as if it had happened yesterday.

Show a little respect today, please.  If you know a soldier who signed up after 9-11 (that isn’t me) knowing it was a time of war, thank him/her.

One Response

  1. i got up and was walking down to my government class. my teacher was out of town (in DC of all places) and we were to pick up copies of time magazine while i was doing this i kept hearing people talking about something going on so i went back to my room and turned on the tv and sat and watched the clips over and over again.

Leave a Reply

