Eventful weekend

So I finally made it back down to Fairmont this past weekend to see my buddies (you know who you are) and had a really enjoyable time.  Applebees with the guys for dinner Friday night, then back to Mark’s for some Dark Knight goodness and nerd-talk.  Saturday morning Mark made me a breakfast of biscuits and gravy, and I didn’t even have to sleep with him the night before.  How’s THAT for a friend?!  After breakfast we headed to the Fairmont National Guard Armory for a gun show.  I couldn’t find a damn thing I wanted, but Mark made out just fine.  I ended up walking away with four 30 cal. ammo cans (which are now currently full of 5.7mm ammo… lots of it).

Next stop after leaving the gun show was to pick up my cat from my (soon-to-be-ex) wife at her work.  It was, for the most part, a cordial meeting.  She got all teary-eyed when I put Ninja into my cat carrier and took her to the car.  We talked for a little bit when I came back in to pick up the rest of Ninja’s stuff, though.  She had made a three-page list of stuff that my dad and his wife (whom Ninja is staying with temporarily) should know about Ninja.  I thought that was pretty nice of her, considering everything.  She may not love me anymore, but at least she loved and cared for my cat.  *shrug*  Whatever.

On my way home, I talked to my gun dealer buddy (always fun).  He informed me that my rifle was in and ready for pick-up.  Now, I’ve been waiting for this rifle since the end of July, so I got a little excited.  I’m pretty sure the comment, “Don’t cream your jeans” came out of my buddy’s mouth.  Haha.  When I got to his place to pick it up, it was everything I had hoped for and a little more.  For those that are curious, this is the model I got, but I had them add some stuff to it, so it looks a little more like this one.  It’s bad ass, I know.

Today I went down to Strasburg, Virginia with my grandfather to pick up one of his rifles from a gunsmith.  This guy runs his gunsmithing business part-time out of a small room attached to his house, but let me tell you, he knows his stuff!  His set up is impressive for the limited area he works with.  He does it all, too.  Rebluing?  Yep.  Duracoating?  Yep.  Chamber reaming?  Barrel threading?  Yep?  Want custom rounds handloaded specifically for one of your guns?  He’ll do it.  Here’s his info.  I strongly suggest that anyone looking for a quality gunsmith who will not BS you about anything, including price, look him up.

Ron Funk
(540) 305-9130

Anyways, that was pretty much my weekend.  I can’t wait till next weekend because I’ll be on leave for the holidays!  Two weeks off is never a bad thing!

Keep your powder dry.

Leave a Reply

