Mole removal update

This just in…

I had my stitches from my mole-holes removed this afternoon.  They also gave me the results of my biopsies.  Two of the four moles I had removed were atypical.  That, combined with the large number of moles I have led them to determine I have Familial Atypical Nevus Syndrome, and am at an increased risk for developing a melanoma.  I’ve got to watch the scars from the atypical ones to see if they start to come back.  If they do, I’ve gotta see a doc right away.  I’ve also got to start watching every other mole I have (which is a lot) to see if any of them change.  If they do, I’ve gotta see a doc right away.  Three months pass, go see a doc anyway.

This is obviously concerning to me.  Recently, a guy I was friends with in high school passed away due to a melanoma.  He was two years older than me.

Guess we’ll wait and see.

Leave a Reply

