What does NASCAR, a church social, and a massage have in common?

They’re all things I attended this weekend!  Let’s see if I can make a long story short.

The NASCAR event I went to was on Friday down in Richmond, VA.  The Lipton Tea 250.  I got tickets through my unit here.  This was the VIP treatment, let me tell you!  We were bused down and were able to park really close to the event center where we hung out.  Over the course of a few hours, we met 14 of the drivers for the day’s race, ate and drank all we could manage, and even had raffles for some free stuff.  I didn’t win anything during the raffles, but I did manage to get a voucher for one of those fancy handheld tv thingies that lets you watch the race or switch back and forth between the cameras in the cars and whatnot.  That was cool, and the sound-cancelling headphones that came with it were awesome, too.  We sat right in front of Pit Row and got to watch all the cars come in for the quick changes and repairs and whatnot.  Charlie Daniels sang the National Anthem.  That was neat to see/hear.  The only bad part about the trip was we (mom, Bob, and I) didn’t get back home to Martinsburg until about 3am!

Saturday I picked my black bike up from the mechanic.  All I was having done was new tires being put on.  I ended up riding around from Martinsburg to Shepherdstown to Charles Town to Inwood and then back to Martinsburg again just to break in the tires.  I stopped in Shepherdstown, but didn’t stay long.  They were having some sort of hippie Earth-day-worship parade or some crap.  There were all sorts of weirdos with green dyed hair beards and sticks sticking out of their hair and dancing around a May-pole (or some such), and even a guy dressed as the Green Man.  His costume was actually pretty cool, but I think he was suppose to be taken seriously.

Anyway, Sunday I went to an indentity luncheon at the church after the second service.  It’s basically just a lunch where you get to know the leaders in the church and how the church came into being and whatnot.  I had met all the leaders, and knew most of the church’s history, but it was still nice to see it all in one place.  I actually had to leave early so I could make my massage appointment.  It had been too long between massages, and my neck had been killing me, so this did me lots of good.  I was just irritated that the weather had turned crappy on Sunday and I couldn’t ride because the route out to where I got my massage would be GREAT for my motorcycle.  Oh well, there is always next time.

Well, that’s my weekend in a nutshell.  Enjoyable again.  I had plans for this coming weekend to go to Fairmont and play Star Wars with the guys, but there are some extenuating circumstances that forced us to push that back until the end of the month.  I’m totally cool with it, though, because it’s some good reasons. Well, that’s all for now.  Catch you on the flip side.

Keep your powder dry.

Leave a Reply

