The year is half over

Well, it’s the end of June.  Where did the year go?

This past weekend was fun.  Keith, Annie, and I went to a party that Keith was invited to (to be fair, he was told to bring guests).  It wasn’t bad, but pretty far from even the parties that I’ve had in the past.  Want a drink?  Better grab a beer from the fridge or mix your vodka with some Sprite Zero or Diet Coke.  That was pretty much the options we had.  I did manage to find a small bottle of Jack that was half gone and finished the rest of it over ice (like three or four shots worth), but that was all I drank the whole night.  After we left the party, Keith wanted to go back out but forgot to tell me this… so I had already taken my sleep medicine when he brought up the idea.  Needless to say, we did not go back out.  *sigh*

Saturday was a blast!  I got home in time to grab a quick bite to eat before meeting up with my bruver and heading out for the 100-mile motorcycle ride for Speed Weekend at our church.  The ride itself actually ended up being closer to 105 or 110 miles, but that’s just all the better!  All the money raised from the ride registration and t-shirt fees went to Berkeley County Parks and Recreation to aid in their summer kids program.

We left Martinsburg and went up to Berkeley Springs, then across the mountain to Paw Paw, then over to Glengary and back to Martinsburg through Back Creek Valley.  With the exception of the first part of the trip where Bryon and I got caught behind a woman on a little 250 taking turns at 5-10 mph under the speed limit and barely getting up to speed on the straights, it was a lot of fun.  This was the first time that he had ridden in a group of any substantial size.  I think Pastor Kevin Green said there was something like 30 or 40 bikes registered.

Dinner was back at the church and consisted of coleslaw, bbq baked beans, and a pulled pork sandwich.  They had an ENTIRE pig on the grill.  Seriously, look…

pork lunch

Now THAT’S what I’m talkin’ about!  It was gooooood, too!  Yes, that is a cigar in the pig’s mouth.  I actually ate two sandwiches.  My sisser couldn’t believe I was putting the food away like that.  Man… I’m getting hungry again just thinking about it, and I just ate lunch!  Actually I’m craving ice cream, but I digress…

That evening after the dinner was a blues concert by Jimmie Bratcher.  I’m not in to blues, really, but he put on one good concert!  Tim, one of his band members, could wail on a harmonica like no one I’ve ever heard!  They’ve both got really good testimonies about how they came to know God, too.  A lot of their beliefs shine through their music, but I would think that anyone who likes that sort of music would still enjoy it.  They’re playing later this year at the Sturgis rally right there on main street!  Talk about an awesome opportunity!

Sunday was the car show portion of Speed Weekend.  For the service, they had pulled a bunch of the bikes inside and set them up on stage, along with a sweet Nissan something-or-other with lamborgini-style doors.  Jimmie and the crew played a few songs during the service, then he gave the sermon for the day.  The car show actually started that evening around 4pm.  There were tons of awesome cars, both modern and classic alike!  The burn-out contest was my favorite part, though.  I’d never been to one, and I can easily see the appeal now!  Makes me want to go to a tractor pull and eat some funnel cake or something.  Pastor Kevin did a burn-out a couple times on his Harley sportster.  His second go-around, though, he almost hit the wall after he did his takeoff!  He was seriously like two feet away from the large concrete blocks!  I was told I should have entered one of my bikes in the contest since that Yamaha shaft drive transfers all 1100cc’s of engine power straight into the ground.  Maybe next year you’ll be reading about it.  Hopefully not in the obituaries, though!  Haha

Well, that was my weekend.  We’ve got a four-day weekend coming up for the 4th of July.  Keith wants me to come down and stay with him again, but Lindsay is so close to having her baby that I’m not sure if I want to risk it or not.  I didn’t get to see Avalynn until she was several months old.  I really would like to be there for the new baby, whatever it turns out to be (boy or girl, not like… alien or whatever).  Hopefully it’s a boy, though.  I’m just sayin’…  Catch you on the flip side.

Keep your powder dry.

Leave a Reply

