I’m not dead yet

So, I’d say that it’s been a busy couple months, and that’s not exactly a lie. I have, however, just been particularly distracted with everything going on to actually keep up with my blog.  For that, I apologize.  There’s been too much going on to update you on everything, but I can give you a few highlights.

My last official day in the Army was September 11th, and I’ve been a civilian ever since. It’s been great.  I started my new job with HMS Technologies, Inc. here in Martinsburg on the 14th of September.  It’s a great place to work, and my boss is awesome.  I really look forward to going to work.  I’m an accounting assistant.  Didn’t see that one coming years ago, but I’m surprised how much I enjoy working on cost proposals and budgeting spreadsheets.  I’m also probably going to a project manager course in January.  That would let me actually work as a project manager on a future contract that HMS wins, which means more responsibility and a lot more pay!  🙂

Halloween this year was fun.  We didn’t have a party, but did get dressed up and go out to Outback to eat, then had a small campfire back at my girlfriend’s house.  My costume was a big hit.  I was a scarecrow (again), but wore a much more complicated costume.  I wore it to our church Harvest Party this past weekend and I’m pretty sure I scared more adults than kids.  Haha.  The kids were very interested in my mask and wanted to all touch it.

My divorce will be final next Friday.  That’s when the court date is, and it’s my understanding that it should be an in-and-out hearing since neither of us is contesting anything.  I’ve been counting down.  I’m just ready to get on with my life without having this hanging over my head.

My girlfriend and I are still together and getting along just fine. We’ve got a trip coming up to the Outer Banks to go to a friend of her’s wedding. That’s also next weekend.  It’s gonna be a long weekend.  We’ve been dress shopping for her to find a nice dress for my upcoming company Christmas party.  It’ a black & white ball being held in the ballroom of one of the nice hotels in the area.  I’m looking forward to getting to dress up again.  I’m gonna wear my Indy “Temple of Doom” tux and dinner jacket that I wore to the black & white ball I went to in Korea.

I bought a new motorcycle.  “Outrider” stopped running on me while out and about.  Just sputtered and died.  The guys at the shop thought it might have been my starter, so I finally relegated the maroon XJ to just being a parts-bike now.  Anyway, I had been thinking about getting a new bike for a while, and this was just the little extra push I needed.  My local Yamaha shop that does all the work on my bikes had a SWEET ’06 Yamaha Road Star Warrior for sale.  Long story short, it’s my bike now, and it’s awesome.  Only problem I’ve had since I bought it?  We went down while coming home from church one night.  Don’t worry, I’m fine.  I just tore up my armored denim jacket a little and got some minor road rash.  I was only doing like 20 mph.  I thought it might have been something I did, but the intersection I went down in had (it’s since been re-paved) a reputation for being slick and causing lots of problems.  So now she’s got a pushed-in spot on the left side of the tank and a big scratch to accompany it.  I also scratched the air intake, bent the shifter and rear foot peg, and scratched the rear left blinker.  I’ve replaced the intake and shifter myself, but I’m waiting until there is no good riding weather left to turn the bike in to be re-painted.  Instead of getting it painted the same color, I’m just gonna go head and pay a little extra and have a custom job done.  My theme?  The Gadsden Flag.  🙂  My girlfriend is doing a mock-up for me in photoshop.  I think it’s gonna be pretty sweet when it’s all said and done.  I’m going to make sure it’s got “Don’t Tread On Me” since that’s part of the flag, but to go along with it, I’m gonna have “Molon Labe” put on there somewhere, too.  That fits right in with the theme, in my mind.  So for those too lazy to look it up, instead of being red with silver stripes down the tank, my new bike will be a yellow-gold (goldenrod?) color with a rattlesnake coiled around the tank, its head on the font fender and tail/rattle on the rear fender.

So that’s enough for now.  There’s plenty going on politically lately, so I’ll try to comment on that stuff sometime soon.  Anyway, as usual…

Keep your powder dry.

2 Responses

  1. Your bike is called a “Star Warrior”. Just pointing that out.

    Also, what will you call this one? Perhaps the Ebon Hawk? The Lady Luck? The Jade Saber?

  2. I had the “OUTRDR” plate transferred from my black XJ over to this new one, but I’m thinking of transferring it back and doing a new personalized plate for this bike. Maybe “MLNLBE” (Molon Labe), “RTLSNK” (Rattlesnake), or “LIBRTY” (Liberty). I still haven’t decided yet.

Leave a Reply

