So much pain…

So this past Tuesday I started re-taking Tae Kwon Do at my old Karate school, Quenzel’s Karate, here in Martinsburg.  It’s actually the Moo Duk Kwan style of TKD.  I achieved my last ranking/belt in 2001 and stopped taking shortly thereafter due to moving out of the area (college).  I have wanted to start back up again for years, though.  Being stationed in South Korea where my art was born only helped fuel that fire.  Unfortunately I wasn’t able to take while in Korea due to my knee injury and a limiting physical profile.

I decided at the end of last year, though, that I was going to start back up.  I think the exercise will be good for my knee in the long run, both by increasing strength in those muscles and flexibility in the leg.  I missed the first class of the month, but was told that I can join in both the Beginner and Intermediate classes until I feel like I’m ready to just fully rejoin the Intermediate class (where I belong).

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I remembered from my forms/katas and how to turn properly during exercises.  I fell right back in to that groove easily.  I was striking hard with my punches and kicks, pushing deep stances, everything that I should be doing for a student of my belt. And now I’m paying for it.  I’m soooo sore, even still today.  And I’ve got another class tonight.  Bring on the pain.

Wanna hear something else that’s funny?  My girlfriend is one of my instructors.  Yep.  She pretty much runs the Beginner class by herself, while she assists Master Dave with the Intermediate class.  I of course knew this when I started dating her and thought it was pretty cool.  To paraphrase Hoban “Wash” Washburne, she’s my “warrior woman”.  🙂

Anyways, so if you see me limping around more than usual anytime soon, you now know why.

Keep your powder dry.

Leave a Reply

