That’s no sinkhole, it’s a BURROWED TUNNEL!

Ok, I don’t think I commented about the really BIG Guatemala sinkhole when it happened last May, but I did talk it over with my friends a lot.  My theory was a very large subterranean tunneling cryptid.  I mean, look at that hole… it’s perfectly round!  So anyway, now this pops up, also in Guatemala…

That sinking feeling: Woman finds giant sinkhole under her bed

From the article:

That’s what one Inocenta Hernandez from Guatemala City learned after a sudden noise caused her to run outside, thinking there had been an explosion nearby. When she realized the problem was inside her home, she returned to find a gaping, three feet wide, 40 feet deep sinkhole beneath her bed.

The sinkhole just happened to open up under her bed?!  I think maybe there’s something fishy going on.  It seems to me that Guatemala City might have itself a problem with some graboids.  Ok, maybe not that, but still.  There’s monsters in Guatemala that need killin’.  Maybe someone higher-up in the Mayan religion (that is having a resurgence due to cultural protections established under the peace accords) is sending this creature out into the city to attack people and bring them back for sacrifice?  Hmm… I’ll have to ponder further on this.

Moral of the story: don’t go to Guatemala City until this creature (and its controller) are found and put do death (and/or brought to justice… you know, whatever).  For those of you familiar with Monster Hunter International, I bet the PUFF bounty on these things is pretty big.  And if you’re not familiar, you need to get that way!