I Don’t Compromise

At least not when it comes to my gun beliefs.  Some people try to “negotiate” with me saying that keeping my guns locked up would be the safe thing to do if I ever had kids so that the kid can’t get the gun and shoot themselves with it.  Here’s what I’ve got to say about that:

1.) I grew up with loaded guns in my house and never shot myself, nor any of my siblings, parents, or friends.  I was introduced to guns at an early age and taught what they were and what they can do.  I was told if I was every curious and wanted to look at one, just to ask my dad or grandfather and they’d get one out for me to look at.  It removed the “curiosity” aspect of guns from my childhood so that I never wanted to sneak in and play with a loaded gun.  I was given the proper mindset, knowledge, and training regarding firearms responsibility and guess what?… I made it out alive!  I have a lot of friends who did so, too!  Now, if they’re too young to understand, then yes, precautions must be made (like storing the weapon in an out-of-the-way or hidden location.

2.) Those ten seconds or more that it might take for me to bolt down the hallway (and/or stairs) to my gun safe, get out the key (if it’s not a combination lock), open it, grab a gun, and get back to where I can protect my family/kids, could be all the time a robber/killer needs to beat/stab/shoot my family.  When I need a gun to protect myself or my family, I need it NOW.  There’s no warning.  The perpetrator doesn’t send you a message saying he’s going to break in to your house tonight.  It’s NO different than wearing a seatbelt in your car or a life preserver on a boat.  Do you just put your seatbelt on when you know you’re going to get in a wreck?  Do you just put your life preserver on when you know you’re going to fall overboard in the ocean?  No?  Why not?  Oh, because you don’t know when these things are going to happen.  That’s why you take the proper precautions all the time!  Because it’s the responsible thing to do.

Now, don’t take this to mean that I think you should be forced to do any of these things by law, because I don’t.  It may be the responsible thing to do, but I think every person should be allowed to make their own choices.  If you don’t want to wear a helmet, seatbelt, or life preserver, then you shouldn’t have to.  Just don’t whine about it when you get injured or die.

If I have a family, it’s my duty as the father/husband to protect them.  I can’t do that if my guns are locked up where I can’t get to them immediately.  I’m not Catholic, but they put it in good terms:

“Legitimate defense can be not only a right but a grave duty for one who is responsible for the lives of others.”

– Catechism of the Catholic Church, No. 2265

Think that about sums up my feelings.  Catch you on the flip side.

EDITED: Here’s some stats for you: from the Centers For Disease Control National Center for Injury Prevention & Control website, in 2005 the number of unintentional firearm deaths and rates per 100,000 (including all races, both sexes, and ages 0-17) was 127.  To the contrary, the number of homicide firearm, cut/pierce, and struck by/against deaths (including all races, both sexes, and ages 0-17) was 1068.  Almost ten times as likely!  I included the cut/pierce and struck by/against stats because murderers don’t just use guns.  Granted, these stats aren’t strictly “in home” incidents, but it gives a pretty good view of the difference.  According to the FBI website, in 2005 there were 2,154,126 burglaries.

Anyway, according to these stats, which is more likely to happen: your kid (0-17 years old) shoots himself, or he/she is murdered?  Should be pretty clear, even to a blind liberal.

So ask me now why I don’t lock up my home protection guns.

Leave a comment